Friday, February 8, 2013

Removing devices from Orion NPM and NCM

My team and I ran into a little snag when administering our SolarWinds Orion installation today. We have Orion Network Performance Monitor as well as Orion Network Configuration Manager integrated into the same Orion Core database (NPM and NCM still have their own separate SQL databases, more on this later) and we run nightly config backups using Orion NCM.

The problem came up when we deleted a node from Orion NPM two days ago. For some reason, NCM was still trying to perform a config backup job and we received an error this morning about it. I logged into the NCM console and saw that the node was still showing as active. However, opening the Orion NPM web console shows that it was deleted. Why was NCM still trying to run config backups on a node we deleted from NPM two days ago?

Even though Orion NPM and Orion NCM share the same Orion Core database (we run both software installs on the same server) and have several components integrated with each other in the Orion website, each product still operate as if they are completely separate from each other still running their own SQL databases. When you delete a node in Orion NPM, the node is not deleted in NCM at the same time. In order to completely delete a device from the entire Orion system, you need to delete it first from Orion NPM, then delete it from Orion NCM. You can manage a device in NCM without monitoring it with, or adding it to, NPM. Likewise, you can monitor device performance in NPM without adding it to, or managing it with, NCM.

Delete a node from Orion NPM

Deleting a node will remove all historical data for that device in Orion NPM. This includes all performance data, device details, uptime and downtime information, etc. You cannot undo a node deletion in Orion NPM. Once a device has been deleted from the database, the only way to restore monitoring information for it is to restore the Orion NPM database from a backup file.

Follow the process below to delete the device from Orion NPM.

  1. Log into the Orion website.
  2. Under the All Nodes Managed section, click the Manage Nodes button.
  3. Check the box next to the device you want to remove, then click Delete.
  4. Click the Delete button in the confirmation window.

The node has now been removed from Orion Network Performance Monitor. If the device was managed in Orion NCM, continue to the next section.

 

Delete a node from Orion NCM

Deleting a node from Orion NCM will delete all historical data for that device. This includes all configuration backups, task schedule, etc. You cannot undo a node deletion in Orion NCM. Once the device and all of its configuration and management information has been deleted from the NCM database, the only way to recover it is to restore the Orion NCM database from a backup file. Follow the process below to delete the node from Orion NCM.

  1. While logged into the Orion website, click Settings on the upper-right hand side of the window. This will open Orion Website Administration.
  2. Under the Settings section, click NCM Settings.
    clip_image008
  3. Under Advanced, click Sync Nodes.
    clip_image010
  4. Click the Synchronize Databases button.
  5. Click Finish.
  6. Check the box next to the device to delete, then click Remove Nodes from NCM.
  7. Click Yes in the confirmation window to delete the node.

The node has now been removed from Orion Network Configuration Manager.

I hope this helps to clear up some of the confusion about deleting nodes from an integrated Orion Core database with Orion Network Performance Monitor and Orion Network Configuration Manager.

- Joe